Strategy on cutting hosting costs down

Ewout

What is the cost like Alex? If it's beyond reasonable (> €30 monthly) that can be cut down to €5-€10 monthly.

I'm an SRE by trade and could help architect and implement a more cost-efficient solution (and something reproducible from your end by using e.g. Terraform).

If you have a semi stable internet connection and a spare computer, you could setup XenForo on there from home. This may sound ridicilious and a very amateurish setup, but it not necessarily is. I have worked with Fortune 500 companies that use that exact setup with millions of requests per day. The performance all dependents on smart response caching, and a fast site-to-site VPN implementation.

Something usually teckled by an "edge" server, which could be a really cheap VPS on e.g. Scaleway, TransIP or Hetzner (just examples, any reputable cloud provider will do) . This edge server runs the VPN server (WireGuard), proxy web server (NGINX) and the response-caching software (Varnish and Yahoo's Apache Traffic Server). Varnish and ATS are heavily configurable and can manipulate the cache settings per HTTP request and response, meaning even misbehaving web applications that don't set the appropriate caching HTTP headers can be cached. With a stale-while-revalidate implementation strategy, there will be zero extra latency from a visitor perspective.

site visitor <--> edge server <--> NGINX (TLS termination) <--> Varnish (L1 memory cache) <--> Apache Traffic Server (L2 disk cache) <--> VPN (WireGuard) <--> your spare computer at home running XenForo